Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 16th, 2011

i dreamed last night about my ex… from… let’s see, what grade was it? whatever grade it is that you learn about numbers by the teacher using those tiny blocks on the overhead projector… so… a long time ago, we’ll say. i didn’t even know we were going together until my friend asked me why i had broken up with him… apparently somebody had a crush on me. not that i blame him, i was a cute little girl!

so in my dream, we were older, and dating (either still, or again, i couldn’t tell which), but by the end of the dream, he was apologizing to me, and i found him in the arms of another woman. ok, makes sense, at least symbolically.

my most recent ex dumped me, then picked up with another girl, and married her instead. no biggie, no surprise.

what i was most reveled with when i woke up is just how much things have changed. for example. if, somehow, in real life, that ex-from-so-very-long-ago and i had continued to “go out”, as they said back then, i don’t know that we would have made it.

you hear about plenty of couples that are together since 1st grade… few and far between, yes, but that’s true love for ya. but this guy and i… we reconnected on facebook, and this is even after a short time of him calling me a mean nickname (which i’m still not sure meant he liked me or was just being mean… you know the old adage? they wouldn’t pick on you if they didn’t like you?), turned out so very different! not to mention my childhood!

at that age, it’s not like i could have just expected him to stick by my side through it all! but it does make me wonder how it is that other couples do it.

when you’re older, it’s different, because you’ve each basically come into your own, and you learn that you have to accept each other as is, or move on. but when you’re going through that change, either you change with them, or you change for them… and neither seems like necessarily a good option. don’t misunderstand, moving on can always be a hard decision, no matter what.

i’m getting off track. even though i crushed on this boy for the longest time after our “break up”, looking back on it, i honestly don’t think we could have worked.

we just turned out way too differently.

Read Full Post »